The Block System is a social support network. It was created in response to a need for local social support in regions far from Naha City (where the PA Support System is based). Okinawa is divided into 8 “blocks”, which are each headed by a volunteer “Blockhead” from the JET community. The Blockhead helps both Muni and Ken JETs settle into their area by organizing social events and providing information on local daily life (e.g. places to go, where the nearest supermarket is, etc). Blockheads are not responsible for helping with work-related issues.

Block Map with Labels

Blockheads 2018/2019

Block 1: The North (Nago, Kunigami), Alexandria Dzurissin
Block 2: Upper Chubu (Okinawa City, Uruma, Yomitan), Nicolas Schilling
Block 3: Lower Chubu (Urasoe, Nishihara, Ginowan), Samantha Kwok
Block 4: Naha, Krislyn Cha

Block 5: The South (Itoman, Nanjo, Yonabaru), Samantha Warford
Block 6: The Outer Islands (Iheya, Izena, Ie, Kume, the Keramas, and the Daitos), Daeyna Jackson
Block 7: Miyako, Shuaib Syed
Block 8: Ishigaki/Yaeyama, Adam Jensen